question from a student

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

lostoros

question from a student

Post by lostoros »

Hi-

I am a high school student working on a quick basic game for school. THe game is a rip-off of pacman where the character eats punctuation and is chased by a giant percentage sign...but ive run into a problem. The structure of the program is as follows:

intructions...intro, etc.

maze designs (2 at this point)

THen a DO...LOOP which contains the actual commands to move the character, the printing of the maze, score calculations, AI for the mosnters, etc.

Here is my problem. In the loop is a command which recognizes whether the player has won or lost. But after you win, I need to be able to exit the loop and go back to the maze design section so the computer will recalculate the level variable and print a new maze. I am unable at this point to get it to exit the loop and go back to that point. Please help...thanks in advance...

Post by Guest »

There are two ways I would suggest to a beginner to go about this:

The first would be to use the GOTO statement (Seeing as your obviously thinking alone those lines).

This command works as follows:

After the Do...Loop write the command

GOTO top

And back above in the program code where you want the program to restart at type

top:

This is called a lable. Obviously if you call the label something other then top you'd goto the new label name.

This, however, is deemed HORRENDUS PROGRAMMING PRACTICE, and I shouldn't really be telling you it even exists.

The alternative would be to encase the entire program in another DO...LOOP command, so that when the game loop exits the program goes back to the start. Seeing as you are already familiar with the DO...LOOP command, and not goto, I'd suggest taking this option.

If you'd like me to explain in more detail, just ask,