Need Help With My Text Adventure

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

signupman

Need Help With My Text Adventure

Post by signupman »

I'm new at Qbasic, but I realy like it's old school feel and graphics. I decided that it would be best to start with a text adventure, but I'm having problems finding a good tutorial that will explain how I should go about putting the room descriptions into an array and how to make a parser...I am looking for something that explains the concepts very simply. I hope that I have given enough information for someone to answer but if not I can give more description of my problems. Thanks in advance for your help.
Pete
Site Admin

Post by Pete »

There's a decent tutorial on writing text adventures by Terry Cavanagh right here:
http://www.petesqbsite.com/sections/tut ... res_tc.txt

You can also find a lot of GREAT information and source code on Dunric's websites:
matt2jones

Post by matt2jones »

If you're new, you'd be better off starting with something simpler then a text adventure, they are quite complex if you do them right, and if you do them wrong they teach you absolutly nothing about gamemaking.

matt
signupman

That is a good point.

Post by signupman »

What do you suggest that I start with?
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

Are you really new at QB, start with a Beginners Tutorial explaining about QB programming itself first.

Pete: concerning the above sentence... *hint* ;)
Pete
Site Admin

Post by Pete »