Page 1 of 1

ascii graphics

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 6:27 pm
by Ghost301
is it possible to add graphics into an ascii game if so how

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 9:28 pm
by {Nathan}
Your answers can be answered very well (but sometimes rather slowly) at www.pure-text.com. Come on, join! We need some... err... life...

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:12 pm
by Ghost301
:? maybe i'm looking in the wrong places but I can't find a register area and there are a few broken links

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:03 pm
by Rattrapmax6
What type of graphics do you want? e.g. Regular pixel graphics? or how to use the text to give you graphic style outputs, like ASCII images etc.. ?

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:21 pm
by Ghost301
i'm a newb but i'm prettty sure i'm looking for pixel graphics
corredt me if i'm wrong but when you say text graphics you mean ASCII charcter codes right? cause i know those

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:34 am
by Antoni
In a true Text Mode (SCREEN0) you can't have pixel graphics as textmodes does'nt allow adressing individual pixels at all. So you need to build graphics from the available characters. There are editors for them, check for the newest as Rattrapmax's, as the older ones encode its output for an ANSI terminal (and would require you to program a decoder).

You can too set a graphics mode as SCREEN 12, that will allow you to output text and pixel graphics at the same time.

Code: Select all

screen 12
defsng a-z 
view print 20 to 27
line (0,0)-(639,300),1,BF
line (100,50)-(540,200),0,BF
do
 r% = (r% + 1) AND 15
 FOR y% = 1 TO 99
   y1% = ((1190 \ y% + r%) AND 15)
   y2 = 6 / y%
   FOR x% = 100 TO 540
    PSET (x%, y% + 100), CINT((319 - x%) * y2) AND 15 XOR y1% 
  NEXT x%,y%
 f%=(f%+1)mod 5: if F%=0 then color int(rnd*16): print "blah"
loop until len(inkey$)

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:21 pm
by Ghost301
sweet !!!
i'm pretty good with ascii games I just wanted some graphics
thanks a lot :D

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2006 3:42 pm
by Rattrapmax6
Antoni wrote:There are editors for them, check for the newest as Rattrapmax's,
That was made in FreeBasic,. the normal output won't work in QBasic since it's 32bit colour..

Tho, it is a nice example:
http://members.aol.com/rattrapmax6/myproggies/APPL1.zip

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:49 am
by Antoni
Btw: A texmode demos place http://taat.fi/tmdc/