Page 1 of 1

Direct QB Lib stuff

Posted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:33 pm
by Cold Logic
Ok I don't really have a clue, I tried out the cosmox library or whatever it was and I got it to work, anyway I wanted to try out directqb

It comes with some management program "dqman" and it says in the manual to run it, when I do that in qb it come up with this call statement saying "subprogram not defined" anyone used this thing before?

Posted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 8:01 pm
by {Nathan}
Yes. Open up notepad and copy + paste this.

Code: Select all

@echo off
qb.exe -l
And save that as a .bat file in your QBASIC directory. Double click it, open DQBman, and run it. Also, to start DQB you will have to this in a .bat file.


Code: Select all

@echo off
qb.exe -l dqb
Again, in your QBASIC directory. DQB has to be in there too! You also after to make the first line of your program this.

Code: Select all

'$INCLUDE:'dqb.bi'
And you should be able to use the DQB routines as you please.

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:07 pm
by Cold Logic
that seems really simple, yet when I run dqman it comes up with the same error. I'm tottally sure I did this right heh, cuz i copied pasted and ran it, loaded the dqman and ran it.

I guess I should ask if you recomend it? is it worth the trouble?

Posted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:31 pm
by Plasma
That should be "QB /L" and "QB /L DQB.QLB".

Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:46 pm
by {Nathan}
It might, but it might not, since dqbman builds dqb.qlb... if that doesn't work, make sure you are using QB version 4.5 and maybe thinking about re-downloading it.

Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:55 am
by Antoni
IIRC the directQB builder was very picky about those long folder names Windows shortens like myfold~1.
Be sure the folder where you are building DQB and the path to QB do not have any ~ sign on them when used from DOS.

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:40 am
by Plasma
No, you need to start QB with /L when running DQBMan. It requires InterruptX in QB.QLB/LIB. QB doesn't accept unix-style switches, so if you run QB -L it just thinks you want to open a file named "-L.BAS".

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:45 pm
by {Nathan}
Thanks! I have been using too much linux lately...