Serial communication port, Code for photobooth fundraiser?

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

rolland_elliott

Serial communication port, Code for photobooth fundraiser?

Post by rolland_elliott »

So I am TRYING to help our local photographic museum,

http://www.lightfactory.org/exhibitions/index.htm

with a little fundraiser for their self portrait exhibition starting a mere 13 days from now.

They want to have a photobooth as a fundraiser, which is easy enough for me to supply, I am a professional photographer who has a photobooth.

However they want to have it act as an automatic vending machine.

I have bought a program that controls my photobooth, but the vending section of code is not yet complete.

All I need to do is have my dollar bill acceptor write a number "1" to a text or dat file so the program can know how many dollars have been inserted. As more dollars are inserted the machine simply adds the numbers up. Two dollars would write the number 2 to the text file. Sounds easy enough?

The manufacturer of the bill acceptor has posted free qbasic code on their website:

http://www.upstatenetworks.com/kiosk/

I downloaded quickBasic 4.5
http://qbnz.com/pages/downloads/software/

Extract it and there is a file called QB.exe that runs quickbasic.

Next I created a *.bas file in the same directory that Qbasic is located in and called it money.bas using the following code

Code: Select all

OPEN "com1: 300, n, 8, 1,cd0,cs0,ds0,op0,rs,rb2048" FOR INPUT AS #1 

OPEN "c:\photoboof\credits.txt FOR OUTPUT AS #2 

PRINT #2, 0 

CLOSE #2 

OPEN "c:\photoboof\credits.txt" FOR OUTPUT AS #2 

delay = 0 

COLOR 15, 1, 1 

CLS 

PRINT "       Please insert $1 BILLS FOR PHOTOS" 

PRINT 

PRINT " When you are done inserting all of your bills, press any key to continue..." 

LOCATE 5, 35 

PRINT "Credit: $"; credit