Quickbasic 7.1 Program questions

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Annorax

Quickbasic 7.1 Program questions

Post by Annorax »

Hello all.

I've been programming Q/Quickbasic for many years now. I started on my first computer, nearly 10 years ago. I wanted to get into some QB programming (for kicks) so I looked for my old Quickbasic 7.1 program and put it on my current machine that's running Windows 2000.

But I've been having these odd quirks with it. First of all, at startup, it says some annoying Microsoft message and I need to press a key to continue. I don't recall that there on my old computer (with same program) but I could be wrong. And in windowed mode, the mouse doesn't work. And finally, when I hit Open or Save and the dialog box opens, it first scans both my disk drives (yes I have a 1.44 and a 1.2 on this machine!) before opening the window, and I know it didn't do that on my old computer.

Are there any ways around these annoynces? Thanks for any help.
Nodtveidt
Veteran

Post by Nodtveidt »

Sounds like you're using Windows XP. XP has a lot of problems running the QB IDE, especially with legacy floppy drives. Plasma made a "hack" of the IDE which fixes the floppy read problem though, you can find it on qbasicnews.com's forum. As far as the mouse goes...you're s.o.o.l. there...run it fullscreen.
Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

Eh Nek... he said he used Win2000... ;)

Annorax:
Windows NT based systems with a NTVDM have the problems with the mouse, as in Windowed mode, only key input is checked. (NTVDM is a DOS "Emulator", actually a Virtual Dos Machine).

About the floppy drive problem, listen to Nek.