VERY simple question...

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Travesty

VERY simple question...

Post by Travesty »

Hey all, new to the forums. The name's Mike, 20 years old. I started programming in GW-BASIC/BASICA at age 12, Moved up to QBasic 1.1 shortly thereafter, and for several years now have been into Visual Basic, and more recently, Visual C++. I will save the remainder of my introduction for later, but for now I will ask my simple question...

I would like to figure out the file format of the QB.INI file for QB45. I have most of the basics for this file format down, but there are a few settings in the header that I can't quite pinpoint. The first three bytes make up the prefix string "QBP". As for the QB Paths, there is always a byte indicating the length of the string for a pathname, which seems to immediately precede the pathname's string itself. The bytes inbetween the prefix string and the pathname strings are questionable, however...

I am trying to figure the whole type structure to this file so that I can write a simple utility that can automatically read/write a user's QB Path settings, amongst other things. Any ideas?
Nodtveidt
Veteran

Post by Nodtveidt »

Sourcecode for QB has been available for awhile now. I'm not sure where to get it off the top of my head, but try doing a google search for it. It might offer some assistance.
marinedalek
Coder

Post by marinedalek »

The sourcecode is somewhere on this page. In the QB1.1 section, I think.

Post by Guest »

Nekrophidius wrote:... but try doing a google search for it. It might offer some assistance.