Read/Data error!

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Read/Data error!

Post by Mentat » Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:42 am

Now, I've used data and read statements for quite some time. Now I'm getting a syntax error for my Read statement :x !

Here's my code:

FOR Y% = 1 TO NUMBER% 'number is the number of cubes
FOR X% = 1 TO 6 '6 sides of a cube
READ C% 'read some data
LET CUBES(Y, X) = C% 'store it to an array
NEXT X%
NEXT Y%

... blah

DATA 000, 000, 000, 000, 000, 000 'INTRO CUBE
DATA 000, 000, 000, 000, 000, 000
... more data

Have I forgotten something?
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .

User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Post by Mentat » Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:14 pm

Ohh... the compiler was looking at the remarks after Data. That would explain a lot.

Is there a way around this? I want to title my data.
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .

Mac
Veteran
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:00 pm

Post by Mac » Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:01 pm

Mentat wrote:Is there a way around this?
No. Anything after DATA is counted as data. There is no way to put a remark on a DATA line.

Of course, you can always do this
' Here is some data
DATA Blah
DATA Blah
' And here is some other data
DATA Blah

Mac

Dav
Coder
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 9:23 am
Contact:

Post by Dav » Mon Sep 03, 2007 5:53 pm

The only way I know of adding remarks to the end of a DATA line is by putting a colon at the end of them, like this:

DATA 000, 000, 000, 000, 000, 000: 'INTRO CUBE
DATA 000, 000, 000, 000, 000, 000: 'ICE CUBE?

I didn't know about that trick until last year, and I don't think the QB manual even mentions it. It's in the QBKB here: http://kb.qbasicnews.com/Q36395.TXT

- Dav

User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Post by Mentat » Mon Sep 03, 2007 6:07 pm

Thanks a lot :D . But I might switch over to .DAT instead. See the Loading post.
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .

Mac
Veteran
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:00 pm

Post by Mac » Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:13 pm

Dav wrote:The only way I know of adding remarks to the end of a DATA line is by putting a colon at the end of them
Good point, Dav! I forgot about that.

And I usually always use colon before remarks to keep the spacing. I hate it when
x = 1 'First guy
becomes
x = 1'First guy
so I do
x = 1: ' First guy

I should have noted that this would apply to DATA also

Mac

User avatar
Patz QuickBASIC Creations
Veteran
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 9:01 pm
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Contact:

Post by Patz QuickBASIC Creations » Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:33 pm

People, please use code tags. It makes your post a lot easier to read, as some of you just randomly put code anywhere in your post, and sometimes it's hard to differentiate between the code and your post.

Code: Select all

[code]This is a code tag!
[/code]

User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Post by Mentat » Thu Sep 06, 2007 6:21 am

People, please use code tags
So that's what those buttons are for 8) .

please goto:

http://www.petesqbsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2428

I didn't post there just for fun. I KNOW somebody has the answer.
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .

Post Reply