Page 1 of 1

Read/Data error!

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:42 am
by Mentat
Now, I've used data and read statements for quite some time. Now I'm getting a syntax error for my Read statement :x !

Here's my code:

FOR Y% = 1 TO NUMBER% 'number is the number of cubes
FOR X% = 1 TO 6 '6 sides of a cube
READ C% 'read some data
LET CUBES(Y, X) = C% 'store it to an array
NEXT X%
NEXT Y%

... blah

DATA 000, 000, 000, 000, 000, 000 'INTRO CUBE
DATA 000, 000, 000, 000, 000, 000
... more data

Have I forgotten something?

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:14 pm
by Mentat
Ohh... the compiler was looking at the remarks after Data. That would explain a lot.

Is there a way around this? I want to title my data.

Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:01 pm
by Mac
Mentat wrote:Is there a way around this?
No. Anything after DATA is counted as data. There is no way to put a remark on a DATA line.

Of course, you can always do this
' Here is some data
DATA Blah
DATA Blah
' And here is some other data
DATA Blah

Mac

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 5:53 pm
by Dav
The only way I know of adding remarks to the end of a DATA line is by putting a colon at the end of them, like this:

DATA 000, 000, 000, 000, 000, 000: 'INTRO CUBE
DATA 000, 000, 000, 000, 000, 000: 'ICE CUBE?

I didn't know about that trick until last year, and I don't think the QB manual even mentions it. It's in the QBKB here: http://kb.qbasicnews.com/Q36395.TXT

- Dav

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 6:07 pm
by Mentat
Thanks a lot :D . But I might switch over to .DAT instead. See the Loading post.

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:13 pm
by Mac
Dav wrote:The only way I know of adding remarks to the end of a DATA line is by putting a colon at the end of them
Good point, Dav! I forgot about that.

And I usually always use colon before remarks to keep the spacing. I hate it when
x = 1 'First guy
becomes
x = 1'First guy
so I do
x = 1: ' First guy

I should have noted that this would apply to DATA also

Mac

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:33 pm
by Patz QuickBASIC Creations
People, please use code tags. It makes your post a lot easier to read, as some of you just randomly put code anywhere in your post, and sometimes it's hard to differentiate between the code and your post.

Code: Select all

[code]This is a code tag!
[/code]

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 6:21 am
by Mentat
People, please use code tags
So that's what those buttons are for 8) .

please goto:

http://www.petesqbsite.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2428

I didn't post there just for fun. I KNOW somebody has the answer.