OK BBS Time

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Vesuvius

OK BBS Time

Post by Vesuvius »

Alright, I've decided to create a BBS using QB. I'm not an advanced programmer by any means, but understand the concept of opening COM ports like files and handling the modem language (thanks for the tuts)

I read some earlier posts about people being able to have multiple callers and was wondering how this would be possible... can someone fill me in on the code needed for this please.
Vesuvius /~\
sid6.7
Veteran

Post by sid6.7 »

all i can remember is that QB can support com1-4 only...
so that could mean up to 4 lines MAX you could use using
different ports...

as com1 and com3 are the same and com2 and com4 are the same...

when i ran a BBS i had to use desqview to run 2 lines and a local node.
back in the old days anyways...

it has to do with SHARE command at some level i believe...for games
and such...although most door games back then only allowed
1 player at a time into them...
burger2227
Veteran

COM PORTS

Post by burger2227 »

You can only open COM 1 or 2. To open 3 or 4 you have to swap the port settings. COM 1 to COM 3 or COM 2 to COM 4.

Also there is usually only one COM that has a modem on it.

If you need to swap then let me know. Look in your Windows component settings to find the COM PORT or Modem port addresses.

XP needs a free program called PortTalk to access the ports.

Ted
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
Kiyotewolf
Veteran

QB BBS

Post by Kiyotewolf »