Page 1 of 2

No " .exe" !

Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 10:37 am
by LEGRAND
I'm using Quickbasic compiler 4.5 on Windows 2000 XP.
The program I want to compile works fine but I cannot compile it. If I get the 2 files .OBJ and .LST, the .exe file does not appear. I see no errors comments on the .LST even if I cannot understand codes like 6E72 followed by 02B6 etc.
2 questions:
1.Any idea why the EXE file is not produced?
2.Is there somewhere a "dictionary" for this Quickbasic codes?

And finally I have a third one: I lost what I must type from dos prompt to enter "my documents" in windows 2000 configuration. With Windows 95 I typed : CD:\ and in return the good computer answered : "C:\>"
All I get now is:"incorrect filename,repertory or volume." What should I type now? (I lost the command)
Thanks for help.

Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 3:39 pm
by burger2227
Some programs are just too large to compile, but you may be able to see the errors better if you compile and don't exit. There may be some other errors built in that only show on compiling.

As for My Documents, I forget where it is on a 95 machine.
Find the folder on your computer and copy the path to it from C:\.

QB can only use 8 character folder and 8.3 filenames. Try "MyDocu~1" as the folder name. If you plan on working in that directory use CHDIR to move there.

Ted

Posted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 12:15 pm
by LEGRAND
I do not succeed.Is there somewhere a clear tutoriel on how to compile with quickbasic 4.5 on windows 2000 XP?

Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 8:59 pm
by Ralph
Can you open your program from within QB? If so, and it runs OK, try to compile by clicking on RUN, Make EXE File. Let us know if this worked for you.

Getting .EXE

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:41 am
by LEGRAND
Everything works fine till I run Make EXE.( I use QB7)

I'm there advised that the program does not find BC.EXE (it is in the same folder as QBX)and obliged to give the path (very long to type)
then same with LINK (idem in the same foler) and then same for LIB (also in the same folder).Here I do not know what name I must give to LIB, and QBX stops here.

Finally I succeed running QB 2.0 but it is frustrating to not understand what happens with QB7 .
(Used already in the past and it worked immediately and without any request )
NB my program is a .bas one .It doesn't work better when transformed in .txt

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:59 am
by Ralph
When you try to compile, QB looks for all the files it needs, expecting them all to be IN THE SAME DIRECTORY, or folder, as QB is in! Please put the program you want to compile in that folder. Then, QB will have no trouble compilint.

If you don't have all the necessary QB files, including the program you are trying to compile, in the same folder, you have to tell QB where each file is, by providing it with the full path, as it is asking at present!

Let us know if you now were able to do the compiling successfully, after making sure ALL necessary files are in the QB folder.

No exe...

Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:07 am
by LEGRAND
Don't know if my answer is somewhere in the pipe. Sent it 2 times but do not see it in the list...

Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:41 am
by burger2227
Is the program in the same folder as QBX.EXE? Did you create a Shortcut to QBX.EXE? You can place the path into each of the Paths listed in Menu Options too. Sometimes Windows may run the wrong instance of QBX.EXE if it is in more than one folder.

Ted

no exe

Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:15 pm
by LEGRAND
Here is what happens. In My Documents,in the same folder named QBASIC7 all folders are together: BC.EXE, LINK, LIB,QBX and of course my program in 2 versions: .BAS and .TXT
I have also MSDOSQBX that I runned.
This time, it works till that warning:
LINK:warning L4051:bc171enr.lib;cannot find library.Enter new file spec.

What should I answer? This time again I don't know how to handle that LIB.
Thanks for help.

There are 11 LIB files

Posted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:16 pm
by burger2227
Where are these two files?

BCL71ENR.LIB and BRT71ENR.LIB

They MUST be in the same Folder as QBX.EXE and the module you compile!

Ted

Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:09 pm
by w1nt0p
I keep seeing people say that the files all have to be in the same place...and I have to say that that is quite incorrect. :shock:

Here is how my setup is laid out and it works perfectly fine.

Code: Select all

C:\QBX\
BIN		HELP		LIB		QB7.BAT		QBX.INI

./BIN:
BC.EXE		BRIEF.INI	BRIEF.KEY	BRT71AFR.EXE	BRT71ANR.EXE
BRT71EFR.EXE	BRT71ENR.EXE	BUILDRTM.EXE	CV.EXE		CVPACK.EXE
EPSILON.KEY	EXEHDR.EXE	EXP.EXE		FIXSHIFT.COM	HELPMAKE.EXE
HIMEM.SYS	ISAMCVT.EXE	ISAMIO.EXE	ISAMPACK.EXE	ISAMREPR.EXE
LIB.EXE		LINK.EXE	ME.KEY		MKKEY.EXE	MOUSE.COM
NMAKE.EXE	NMK.COM		PASTE.QH	PROISAMD.EXE	PROISAM.EXE
PWBBASIC.MXT	PWB.COM		PWBED.EXE	PWBHELP.MXT	PWBRMAKE.EXE
PWBROWSE.MXT	PWBUTILS.MXT	QBASIC.EXE	QBASIC.HLP	QBX.BI
QBX.EXE		QBX.INI		QBX.KEY		QH.EXE		QLBDUMP.EXE
RAMDRIVE.SYS	RM.EXE		SMARTDRV.SYS	Stock.dat	TOOLS.PRE
UNDEL.EXE	UNPACK.EXE

./HELP:
BAS7ADVR.HLP	BAS7ENER.HLP	BAS7EX.HLP	BAS7QCK.HLP	BC.HLP
CV.HLP		LINK.HLP	PWB.HLP		QH.HLP		README.DOC
UTILERR.HLP	UTILS.HLP

./LIB:
87.LIB		B71OAF.LIB	B71OAJ.LIB	B71OAN.LIB	B71OBF.LIB
B71OBJ.LIB	B71OBN.LIB	B71OEJ.LIB	B71OOF.LIB	B71OON.LIB
B71ORF.LIB	B71ORN.LIB	B71RCF.LIB	B71RCN.LIB	B71RLF.LIB
B71RLN.LIB	B71ROAF.LIB	B71ROAJ.LIB	B71ROAN.LIB	B71ROBF.LIB
B71ROBJ.LIB	B71ROBN.LIB	B71ROEF.LIB	B71ROEJ.LIB	B71ROEN.LIB
B71ROOF.LIB	B71ROOJ.LIB	B71ROON.LIB	B71RORF.LIB	B71RORJ.LIB
B71RORN.LIB	B71S.LIB	BCL71AFR.LIB	BCL71ANR.LIB	BCL71EFR.LIB
BCL71ENR.LIB	BLIBFA.LIB	BLIBFP.LIB	BRT71AFR.LIB	BRT71ANR.LIB
BRT71EFR.LIB	BRT71ENR.LIB	CHRTASM.OBJ	CHRTBAFR.LIB	CHRTBANR.LIB
CHRTBEFR.LIB	CHRTBEFR.QLB	CHRTBENR.LIB	DTFMTAR.LIB	DTFMTER.LIB
DTFMTER.QLB	EMR.LIB		FINANCAR.LIB	FINANCER.LIB	FINANCER.QLB
FONTASM.OBJ	FONTBAFR.LIB	FONTBANR.LIB	FONTBEFR.LIB	FONTBEFR.QLB
FONTBENR.LIB	JUSTMOUS.LIB	JUSTMOUS.QLB	MATBAFR.LIB	MATBANR.LIB
MATBEFR.LIB	MATBEFR.QLB	MATBENR.LIB	MODEX.LIB	MODEX.QLB
NOCGA.OBJ	NOCOM.OBJ	NOEDIT.OBJ	NOEGA.OBJ	NOEMS.OBJ
NOEVENT.OBJ	NOFLTIN.OBJ	NOGRAPH.OBJ	NOHERC.OBJ	NOISAM.OBJ
NOLPT.OBJ	NOOGA.OBJ	NOTRNEMR.LIB	NOVGA.OBJ	OVLDOS21.OBJ
PROISAMD.LIB	PROISAMD.OBJ	PROISAM.OBJ	QBX.LIB		QBX.QLB
QBXQLB.LIB	QLBDUMP.EXE	SMALLERR.OBJ	SVGAQB.LIB	TSCNIOFR.OBJ
TSCNIONR.OBJ	TVLIB.LIB	TVLIB.QLB	UIASM.OBJ	UITBAFR.LIB
UITBANR.LIB	UITBEFR.LIB	UITBEFR.QLB	UITBENR.LIB	VSPRTB71.LIB
VSPRTB71.QLB

(edit) :shock: yeah this forum software is horrible! It doesn't even preserve whitespace in code tags...talk about annoying. Admins: I'll personally help you to move the whole forum including user accounts and all posts to a GOOD forum software..phpBB is by far the most overrated piece of junk ever made. :roll:

The version is QuickBasic 7.1 Professional (PDS)

There is one thing you should do before you try to compile an exe though.

In the QBX IDE go to Options-> Set Paths

And set them like the image below:

Image

Once the paths are set properly you can open your BAS file to compile, and it will compile fine.

If you cannot figure it out, just let me know and I'll help you out. :D

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:38 am
by Seb McClouth
My version of PDS comes with the following batch-file:
c:\bc7\bin\new-vars.bat wrote: set PATH=c:\bc7\bin;c:\bc7\binb;%PATH%
set LIB=c:\bc7\lib;%LIB%
set INCLUDE=c:\bc7\src;%INCLUDE%
set HELPFILES=c:\bc7\help;%HELPFILES%
It works completly fine in XP and DOS-BOX.

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 10:33 am
by Ralph
Win10p and Seb:

PLEASE don't muddle the waters evern more for the OP, who is having beginner's problems. If we can just get hem going on his one problem, not being able to compile a program, he will be 100% the better for it. He is having problems understanding what we would think is a simple thing, but, to him, is not. Adding more information, like establishing folders with particular files, and then extablishing the proper paths is, in my opinion, way too far away for him, at the moment.

LeGrand:
If you manage to go to the folder qhere abx resides, then put ALL the necessary files in that SAME folder, then open qb from within that folder, then OPEN your file, you should be able to compile it. If not, post back with whatever messages or partial results you obtain. Don't give up, you're almost there! :)

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:10 am
by burger2227
My Qb45 files are in folders too, but that may confuse some people. The best thing is for all files to be in the same folder if you are having path problems!

Also I only run programs in QB from my Basic Folder when they have data or image files to reference. QB will always look for files in it's folder unless you change directories.

Ted

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 1:05 pm
by Seb McClouth
LeGrand let's go back to your first post.
LEGRAND wrote:I'm using Quickbasic compiler 4.5 on Windows 2000 XP.
The program I want to compile works fine but I cannot compile it. If I get the 2 files .OBJ and .LST, the .exe file does not appear. I see no errors comments on the .LST even if I cannot understand codes like 6E72 followed by 02B6 etc.
2 questions:
1.Any idea why the EXE file is not produced?
2.Is there somewhere a "dictionary" for this Quickbasic codes?

And finally I have a third one: I lost what I must type from dos prompt to enter "my documents" in windows 2000 configuration. With Windows 95 I typed : CD:\ and in return the good computer answered : "C:\>"
All I get now is:"incorrect filename,repertory or volume." What should I type now? (I lost the command)
Thanks for help.
1. No clue. Maybe you post your code here so we can try and see if we get the same problem? I'm sure I've got QB4.5 lying around.
2. Not entirly sure on that. Because the codes you give show up nothing on google or microsoft.

Your third question. I've been checking around, but there's no reference to it. It's possible you mean
CD \
, that brings ya back to
C:\>
I think that for Windows 2000 the "my documents" is situated in the following map on your C-drive; C:\Documents and Settings\Username\my documents; where username is the name you use on windows.

Hope this has helped you a bit.

Grtz

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 4:25 pm
by Ralph
Seb: Thank you!

Legrand:
You wrote, in your first post:
"I cannot understand codes like 6E72 followed by 02B6 etc. "

The characters 6E72 02B6 form an 8-digit number in the hexadecimal system.

From the Wordopedia, I quote:
"HEXADECIMAL refers to the base-16 number system, which consists of 16 unique symbols: the numbers 0 to 9 and the letters A to F. For example, the decimal number 15 is represented as F in the hexadecimal numbering system. The hexadecimal system is useful because it can represent every byte (8 bits) as two consecutive hexadecimal digits. It is easier for humans to read hexadecimal numbers than binary numbers.
To convert a value from hexadecimal to binary, you merely translate each hexadecimal digit into its 4-bit binary equivalent. Hexadecimal numbers have either an 0x prefix or an h suffix. For example, the hexadecimal number 0x3F7A, or 3F7Ah translates to the binary number:
0011 1111 0111 1010". End of quote.

Since computers work on the principal of "yes or no", or "on or off", which can be represented by only two digits, "1 or 0", and since the binary notation system for numbers fits so well into the concept of 1's and 0's, it is used for all coding of the computer. Of course, for humans, large binary numbers are very difficult and confusing,to read, so, normally, we invent computer languages, such as BASIC and QuickBASIC and others, which are more English-like, and use a special program, such as qb.exe, that translates our QuickBASIC language into machine code (ones and zeros).

All computer information being used is contained in its memory. And each eight bits of information - known as one byte - is assigned an address. For BASIC and QuickBASIC, the address that can be handled are numbered 0 through 65,535, for a total of 65,436 addresses. In hexadecimal and binary, the first 16 such addresses would be:

Hexacecimal = Binary
0000h = 0000 0000 0000 0000
0001h = 0000 0000 0000 0001
0002h = 0000 0000 0000 0010
0003h = 0000 0000 0000 0011
0004h = 0000 0000 0000 0100
0005h = 0000 0000 0000 0101
0006h = 0000 0000 0000 0110
0007h = 0000 0000 0000 0111
0008h = 0000 0000 0000 1000
0009h = 0000 0000 0000 1001
000Ah = 0000 0000 0000 1010
000Bh = 0000 0000 0000 1011
000Ch = 0000 0000 0000 1100
000Dh = 0000 0000 0000 1101
000Eh = 0000 0000 0000 1110
000Fh = 0000 0000 0000 1111

and your "code", as a hexadecimal and its equivalent binary number, is:
6E72 02B6h = 0110 1110 0111 0010 : 0000 0010 0110 0101

The largest address that QB can handle is 65,365, or
FFFFh = 1111 1111 1111 1111

Modern computers and their operating systems (OSs) are built to handle much larger addresses. For personal computers, the largest address is
FFFF:FFFFh = 1111 1111 1111 1111 : 1111 1111 1111 1111
which represents a total of 65,536*65,356 addresses.

The first part of am address, the first four hex digits, is known as a "segment", and the second part, as an "offset". Thus, your "code" address would be called "segment 6E72, offset 02B6".

I hope the above, which I don't think I could have made shorter, is sufficinetly clear to you, and helps you to understand addresses a little bit better

Re: Getting .EXE

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:43 pm
by w1nt0p
Ralph: I was responding to this post, and to the other people here to posted poor advice in response to it:
LEGRAND wrote:Everything works fine till I run Make EXE.( I use QB7)

I'm there advised that the program does not find BC.EXE (it is in the same folder as QBX)and obliged to give the path (very long to type)
then same with LINK (idem in the same foler) and then same for LIB (also in the same folder).Here I do not know what name I must give to LIB, and QBX stops here.

Finally I succeed running QB 2.0 but it is frustrating to not understand what happens with QB7 .
(Used already in the past and it worked immediately and without any request )
NB my program is a .bas one .It doesn't work better when transformed in .txt
He stated first that he used QB4.5 then he tried QB7 and was having path errors.
I was trying to clear that up.

I also stated that I would happily help the guy compile his code if he was still having trouble.

I honestly think that he just has a bad installation of the compiler.

For the record, I don't mean to be rude, and if I come off as such I apologize.
I want to help this guy as much as the rest of you! :D

Re: no exe

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:49 pm
by w1nt0p
LEGRAND wrote:Here is what happens. In My Documents,in the same folder named QBASIC7 all folders are together: BC.EXE, LINK, LIB,QBX and of course my program in 2 versions: .BAS and .TXT
I have also MSDOSQBX that I runned.
This time, it works till that warning:
LINK:warning L4051:bc171enr.lib;cannot find library.Enter new file spec.

What should I answer? This time again I don't know how to handle that LIB.
Thanks for help.
You should type in the complete path to the file it is asking for.

So if the file is located in C:\Documents and Settings\Legrand\My Documents\QBASIC7\

Type this (take into account the DOS filename 8.3 limitation)

C:\Docume~1\Legrand\MyDocu~1\QBASIC7\bc171enr.lib

and then press enter.

(You will not have to do this is your paths are setup correctly. --see my post above.)

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:29 pm
by moneo
w1nt0p wrote:Ralph: I was responding to this post, and to the other people here to posted poor advice in response to it:
LEGRAND wrote:Everything works fine till I run Make EXE.( I use QB7)

I'm there advised that the program does not find BC.EXE (it is in the same folder as QBX)and obliged to give the path (very long to type)
then same with LINK (idem in the same foler) and then same for LIB (also in the same folder).Here I do not know what name I must give to LIB, and QBX stops here.

Finally I succeed running QB 2.0 but it is frustrating to not understand what happens with QB7 .
(Used already in the past and it worked immediately and without any request )
NB my program is a .bas one .It doesn't work better when transformed in .txt
He stated first that he used QB4.5 then he tried QB7 and was having path errors.
I was trying to clear that up.

.......
LEGRAND:
I agree with w1nt0p. I think the problem has to do with mixing QB4.5 and QB7 files and trying to compile. You can't take these two versions of Basic and throw all the files together into one folder.

If you want to use both the QB4.5 and QB7 versions of Basic, you must keep their respective files in separate fodders.

So, for the program in question, which version of Basic do you want to use for compiling?

Regards..... Moneo

Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:34 pm
by Ralph
W1nt0p:
The thought of offense never entered my mind! And, I certainly agree that you are doing a good job. I just thought talking about paths might confuse the OP even further. Perhaps addressing the person you are referring to would have not brought on my request to you and Seth. I thought youwere talking to the OP! My error, sorry.