Page 1 of 2

RPG

Posted: Sat May 02, 2009 7:19 pm
by floogle11
i've been working on this for 1.5 hours now and i wanted to see if any of u guys liked it.
and im out of ideas um..
it is not debugged or edited and lots of stuff is not added like the graphics
but please tell me any ideas for it u have


Well I accedentelly messed the whole game up so I need to restart what I've got sof ar of the restart is objects and inputing your name title screen and thats it pretty much so far. Here is the coding so far...

Code: Select all

LET Potions = 0
LET HP = 15
LET HIT = 1
LET XP = 0
LET LEVEL = 1
Cheat:
INPUT "Enter code:"; cheat$
IF cheat$ = "LOTS'O EXP" THEN LET XP = XP + 30000000000'
IF Cheat$ = "HAHA Mula!!!" THEN LET Gold = 3,000,000,000,000
IF cheat$ = "Super saber!!" THEN LET SABER$ = SABER$ - "no" + "yes"
LET Potion$ = "no"
LET SABER$ = "no"
Store:
PRINT "' HINT choose item number to select"
PRINT "Item 1: Sword? 2,000"
PRINT "Item 2: Longsword? 5,000"
PRINT "Item 3: Potion? 50 gold"
PRINT "Item 4: Mace? 8,000"
PRINT "Item 6: Sling? 7,000 gold"
PRINT "Item 7: Ultamate sword? 300,000,000 gold"
PRINT "Item 8: Gun? 200,000,000 gold"
PRINT "Item 9: Bow? 1,000 gold"
PRINT "Item 10: Arrows? 10 gold each"
PRINT "Item 11, 12, 13: MAGIC? Choose 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. MAGIC 1 = 500 gold, MAGIC 2 = 1,000 gold, MAGIC 3 = 1,500 gold"
INPUT "Item 14, 15:MAGIC 4 = 3,000 gold, MAGIC 5 = 6,000 gold"; item
IF item = 1 THEN LET Sword$ = "yes"
IF item = 2 THEN LET Longsword$ = Longsword$ - "no" + "yes"
IF item = 3 THEN 
	INPUT "How many?"; m
	LET Potion$ = Potion$ - "no" + "yes"
END IF 
LET Potions = m
IF item = 4 THEN LET 
LET LEVEL = 1
LET EX = 0
IF XP/100 = INT(EX/100) THEN 
   Level = XP / 100 
END IF 
'NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

LET Sword$ = "no"
CONST Fist$ = "yes"
IF Sword$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 3
IF Sword$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
LET Mace$ = "no" 
IF Mace$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 5
IF Mace$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
LET Longsword$ = "no"
IF Longsword$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 7
IF Longsword$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
LET Gold = 0 
LET Sling$ = "no"
IF Sling$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 9
IF Sling$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
LET Ultamatesword$ = "no"
IF Ultamatesword$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 100
IF Ultamatesword$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
LET GUN$ = "no"
IF GUN$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 5000
IF GUN$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
LET MAGIC1$ = "no"
IF MAGIC1$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 10
IF MAGIC1$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
LET BOw$ = "no"
LET Arrows = 0
LET MAGIC2$ = "no"
IF MAGIC2$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 15
IF MAGIC2$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
LET MAGIC3$ = "no"
IF MAGIC3$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 20
IF MAGIC3$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
LET MAGIC4$ = "no" 
IF MAGIC4$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 25
IF MAGIC4$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
LET MAGIC5$ = "no" 
IF MAGIC5$ = "yes" THEN LET HIT = HIT + 30
IF MAGIC5$ = "no" THEN LET HIT = HIT * 0
PRINT "(N)ew game"
PRINT "(I)nstructions"
INPUT "(Q)uit"; N$
IF N$ = "n" or N$ = "N" THEN GOTO Beginning
IF N$ = "I" or N$ = "i" THEN GOTO Instructions
IF N$ = "Q" or N$ = "q" THEN 
	END
END IF
Beginning:
PRINT "Hello!"
INPUT "What is your name"; Na$
INPUT "Okay, are you ready to go"; g$
IF g$ = "yes" or g$ = "Yes" or g$ = "YES" THEN PRINT "Okay lets begin!"
PRINT "Okay lets go over the basics."
PRINT "First to fight type Fight"
PRINT "Well... Thats about it...."
PRINT " Oh! I've got it the king wanted to give you this."
PRINT "'The man hands you 100 gold peices!"
LET Gold = Gold + 100
PRINT "Now better commands"
PRINT "Like, the store to go to the store type: s."
PRINT "And to enter a cheat type: c."

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 4:56 pm
by coma8coma1
how far did you ever get on this? did you ever get it playable?

nope

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:28 am
by floogle11
i got like 100 more lines of code in then i forgot about it

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 6:51 pm
by burger2227
Save yourself some typing and save me some aggrevation.

LET IS USELESS :roll:

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:09 pm
by bongomeno
Having a car that can go 1000 miles per hour is useless too, but it looks cool on the speedometer!

LET is useless, unless you got style.
I started out NOT using let, but I said, what is the point of using an old language if you cant even conform to the style.

Also, for newbies such as my friend, LET makes more sense when they read it. It stands out more than: x=1

Just my opinion. :wink:

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:20 pm
by burger2227
LET is a holdover from previous versions of Basic such as GWbasic.

If you want to use LET then why not use Line numbers too?

Qbasic is "above" that crapola.

PS: I hate GOTO also, but sometimes it makes things easier. LET just wastes 4 bytes when you may need them later.

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:25 pm
by bongomeno
I have over a terrabyte to waste, also I DO use line numbers in most other versions of basic, like Atari Basic. I just like the way it looks. thats all.

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:44 pm
by burger2227
WASTE is a terrible thing to waste! I see that you also like to stretch out your posts. NOT FUNNY! :shock:

Darn kids!

PS: You cannot exceed 64K bytes of memory in QB. NOT terrabytes!

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:56 am
by BigBadKing
Burger2227, everyone has his\her own style. like in programming, some
may like using LET. while others dont like to use it.

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:03 pm
by burger2227
The POLL vote says otherwise! In QB you should always try to keep the program as compact as possible.

Learning BAD habits or trying to look "cool" serve no purpose here!

BTW, since you started coming here, I have seen nothing from you that requires all of your opinions neither!
Go make something...BIG BAD mouth!

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 2:19 pm
by bongomeno
:roll:
*sigh*

Darn old people!

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:58 pm
by Nodtveidt
burger, stfu about LET. Some forms of BASIC still require it, and it's part of the ANSI standard.

Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 1:12 am
by BigBadKing
Well... Two things to say, Burger2227:


First - Im BigBadKing, not BigBadMouth. and i dont try to look cool,
its serves no purpose and i know that.

Second- Im WORKING on a LONG LONG LONG! Project, its a 3D Compiler.
its atleast two months from when i started work on it.

Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 1:18 am
by SumoAlien
Burger, What Bad habits? the only person which has that bad habits is
you.

Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:45 am
by burger2227
I already pointed that fact out Nodtveidt. I don't expect people to use QB standards in another programming situation,
but LET is a bad habit if you ever get close to creating a compilable program in many instances.

That would mean that I could badmouth semicolons in C...and then I'd be in big trouble!

I'm sure that you know what I mean and you should STFU.

Do Puertoricans pay income tax to the IRS?

Hey

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:16 pm
by floogle11
I use LET so that i can see what it is LET makes it stand out more as stated before thats why i use it.

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 3:52 am
by T'lon Nanaki
sorry every body but I couldn't help posting this

cant we just 'LET' it be?

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:07 am
by BigBadKing
well, T'lon. unless burger2227 doesnt have anything about it, we can
'LET' it be...

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:51 pm
by burger2227
I have nothing more to say about it GIRLS!

You all come here to just chat anyhow. I gather that you all know everything that you will ever need to program.

However I have seen FEW code posts girls.

PS: My last post here was almost a month ago! LET it be.

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:28 pm
by bongomeno
LET it be... ROFL