what about libraries such as DirectQB and FreeBASIC

The forum for all of your Freebasic needs!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
Exodus
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

what about libraries such as DirectQB and FreeBASIC

Post by Exodus » Sat Jun 18, 2005 1:39 am

I realize that this isn't a forum for FreeBASIC, however, I'd prefere to use a forum that yields answers from those more likely to understand my queries..

Can old Qbasic Libraries such as DirectQB be used with FreeBASIC?? I wonder because RPGDK 3 is growing (although, very very slowly [6 years in development]), for sure to pass the limited capabilites of Qbasic. Hmph.. It's like programming PHP with SAFE_MODE enabled...

-Exodus

lurah(cant log in)

Post by lurah(cant log in) » Sat Jun 18, 2005 4:33 am

Well, url might make you think this is an qb forum but fb things are more than welcomed here :)

You cant use qb librarys stright on fb. Mostly because qb is for 16bit dos and freebasic is 32 bit. Someone with better english can explain a bit better. And also my dogs needs to go out ASAP or i have lots of to clean here :lol:

User avatar
ShadowWolf
Veteran
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 1:32 pm
Contact:

Post by ShadowWolf » Sat Jun 18, 2005 7:08 am

directqb can't be used with FB because like the other poster said it a 16bit real mode gfx lib. FB is a 32bit basic compiler it generates 32bit asm instruction along with the memorey being Flat. also directqb use ems memorey somthing that does not exist in 32bit mode.


but i am working on a SDL backend for DirectQB API although i stoped working on it last week becasue i got tired of it i'll most likely finsh it up by next week maybe.

Exodus
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

Post by Exodus » Sat Jun 18, 2005 8:18 pm

Of course, that makes perfect sense!!

I feel ignorant

-Exodus

Post Reply