Libraries in FB

The forum for all of your Freebasic needs!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
Guest
Veteran
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Location: Forest Lake, MN
Contact:

Libraries in FB

Post by Guest » Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:27 am

How can I include libraries in FreeBasic?

Seb McClouth

Post by Seb McClouth » Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:38 am

Hey Bill

Ask Linus Torvalds...

You could try '$include:'path/filename'

grtz
Seb

User avatar
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 12:20 pm

:P Are you really Bill Gates? or some silly joker?

Anyway, you can't just use any lib in FB, ones used in QB won't work unless you find a ported version of them, and yep, Seb is right...

Code: Select all

'$include: 'path/name.bi'
Or, you can do this:

Code: Select all

#include 'path/name.bi'
More info at: http://www.freebasic.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=FBWiki

Sorry no direct link,.. I'm offline right now,.. and after I sign back in and post this, I'll need to reboot be4 I'll have any surfing power... :x
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

Guest

QBASIC Questions & Answers

Post by Guest » Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:11 pm

QBASIC Questions & Answers
QBASIC Questions & Answers
QBASIC Questions & Answers
QBASIC Questions & Answers

User avatar
Pete
Site Admin
Posts: 882
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Candor, NY
Contact:

Post by Pete » Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:10 am

FreeBasic questions are allowed here too. In fact, I encourage them. The more people that switch to FB, the better.

User avatar
SebMcClouth
Veteran
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Inside the Matrix

Post by SebMcClouth » Thu Aug 18, 2005 3:35 am

But I just switched to PDS... and I don't even have FreeBasic... but since I've read that FreeBasic is (should) 100% compatible with QB... I figured hey... you should be able to load .bi files the same way.

grtz
Seb
I know why you're here. I know what you've been doing... why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer...<br>
Unfortunately, no one can be told what Qbinux is. You have to see it for yourself.

User avatar
Pete
Site Admin
Posts: 882
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Candor, NY
Contact:

Post by Pete » Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:19 am

Seb: I was responding to the Guest's post directly above mine, not you!

Anyway, yes, you should check out FB. It's not 100% QB-compatible, but you can convert just about any QB program to FB without much of a hassle. Plus it's so refreshing to make programs that other people can actually run. The rest of the world uses Win32 PCs, and can't get complicated QB programs to run. I use WinXP, and I can't run most QB programs. Just about anything that loads an external library crashes and burns on XP or Win2000. It's extremely frustrating, and if I didn't have an obligation to try out QB programs for the magazine, I would just give up there.

Anyway, why would you pigeonhole yourself to a market of a couple hundred QB programmers with old DOS/Win95/98 machines, when you could create essentially the same program on a platform that 85-90% of the entire world can run?

jb
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 3:21 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by jb » Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:41 am

Is he a joker?
Don't make me laugh...

User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} » Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:36 am

Hey pete, did you get my QBEXP article?
Image

User avatar
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 » Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:49 am

Yeah... FreeBASIC is the new wave,.. powerful, brillant, ect, ect....

You can find tons of cool examples here, just goto my downloads section:
http://members.aol.com/rattrapmax6/xtrgraphics.html

:wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

User avatar
SebMcClouth
Veteran
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Inside the Matrix

Post by SebMcClouth » Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:30 am

But my fake OS is a DOS program... :(. It's not suppose to work yet in Windows.... :twisted: Someday it will!!!

Grtz
Seb
I know why you're here. I know what you've been doing... why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer...<br>
Unfortunately, no one can be told what Qbinux is. You have to see it for yourself.

User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} » Thu Aug 18, 2005 11:42 am

Seb, I could port it to FB then it would be linux, windows and dos in 1.
Image

User avatar
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 » Thu Aug 18, 2005 12:05 pm

No.. it be FBinux.. :P

:wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)

User avatar
{Nathan}
Veteran
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:08 pm
Location: The wetlands of central Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by {Nathan} » Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:12 pm

Or just Binux... 2 types of basic!
Image

Seb McClouth

Post by Seb McClouth » Fri Aug 19, 2005 6:51 am

But... but Binux sounds like been ucks, no good... fbinux sounds like (sorry f*cking been ucks, whatever that may be) It's just the name of the core... It stays Qbinux. :lol:

grtz
Seb

Post Reply