A TRILLION PROBLEMS

The forum for all of your Freebasic needs!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Post Reply
pepsijoe
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 2:13 pm

A TRILLION PROBLEMS

Post by pepsijoe »

Actually I need to name and track 21-27 Trillion different bits of data.
Each bit would have a value that would decrease every second until it reached zero. I need to label each individual bit of data so that once it reaches 0 it can be deleted and replaced. ANY IDEAS?
phycowelder
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:04 am

Post by phycowelder »

21-27 trillion bits of data? wow!

my only sugestion would be maybe
arrays and pointers!

'/shrugs/'
MystikShadows
Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 7:36 am
Contact:

Post by MystikShadows »

This isn't a very clear problem description. What would such a thing be used for? if we can't manage this quantity of information, knowing the purpose of what you're describing we might be able to suggest a more efficient way of dealing with it.

So let us know what it's for exactly, and let's take it from there.
When God created light, so too was born, the first Shadow!

MystikShadows

Need hosting? http://www.jc-hosting.net

Interested in Text & ASCII development? Look no further!
http://www.ascii-world.com
User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Ridiculous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by burger2227 »

That sounds just plain Ridiculous! How would you know if a program missed a few thousand? You wouldn't!

Don't delete each bit of data! Just delete the idea from your mind!
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Post by Mentat »

Use allocate? But there's a limit on memory, not to mention the computer's own limitations. Is this for the LHC? :D

It sounds ridiculus, but so was 103% of math and science at any point in time. So, load up a chunk (a couple gross or so megabytes at a time), process it (whatever you're doing), get rid of it and load up a new batch. I take it that there is an external source for this data, or is it being created by the computer? Whatever it is, this is no small task. I would guess you'll need a really big array or list.

Good luck for what ever this is. Pity, I haven't even a dozen gigabytes left free on my own machine.
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .
User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Unbelievable!

Post by burger2227 »

What are you guys talking about? Where would the user interaction come from? A select 5000 bytes shown on the screen?

I cannot BELIEVE that both of you fell for this obvious JOKE. LOL

Ted

PS: Better buy a mainframe computer and a TRILLION bits of memory!
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
phycowelder
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:04 am

Post by phycowelder »

maybe read/write data files, might be an option!use HD in stead of mem!
User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Post by Mentat »

Or group the same states into one state. So it's no good to waste cycles and bits on a couple million states that all have, say, 100 seconds. You can have the computer manually group them (through linked lists), though you probably won't have a lot of working room for the computer to keep track. Maybe only group per set. That menas the sets themselves will change over time. And if the computer has enough room, it may venture into neighboring sets to further simplification.

Sounds like a job for Assembly.
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .
pepsijoe
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 2:13 pm

Post by pepsijoe »

As an update...the interaction is limited at first, each bit of data is a RBC in the human body. with an average of 21-27 trillion cells. Each bit of data has a "life span" of no more than roughly 10,368,000 seconds. So as each cell reachs the end of it's "life span" it dies (gets deleted) and replaced by a new one. Very simple--complex--concept, and it is no joke.

The problem is that I can't just upload a set amount, compute and start again, because it is a nearly never ending process, so it needs to regenerate at the same time that it loses. Now that you know, any help...?
User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Answer

Post by burger2227 »

Life expectancy? How can you ASSUME that every cell will live for a certain amount of time? What happens if a disease is added to the mix?
I could go on, but even in the FB forum there have to be some limitations on rhetoric! Simple answers:

Men in USA = 72

Women in USA = 80

Now find something else to do that makes more sense. Even FB cannot do that kinda stuff. Try C or D or E. Ask God if you know him well enough!

Ted

PS: Lay off the caffein Pepsi!
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
User avatar
Mentat
Veteran
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Location: NC, US

Post by Mentat »

Burger, it's a simulation. Duh. 8)
And as for the cells themselves, they can be grouped into age-type. There're millions (billions?) of red blood cells that are the same age and will die at the same time (roughly), so you process that group. Then when the group dies, there'll be a new batch of same-time red blood cells to replace'em. And so with neurons (same age, somewhat same lifetime). That'll do some tremendous simplification, not to mention introducing the hope for staying on the memory budget. It's a shot. With a little math, scientific insight, and some computer hacks, you can appear to 'simulate' more than what is actually going on in the computer.
For any grievances posted above, I blame whoever is in charge . . .
User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Exactly

Post by burger2227 »

So we can significantly lower trillions to thousands then and make a real program.

Glad you finally caught on to what I was implying LOL

Ted
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
User avatar
Codemss
Veteran
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 6:49 am
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Codemss »

Burger was 100% right. Trillions of bits is a ridicilous idea. There is another way I can think of to still try the things you want, pepsijoe.
Say each cell has a lifespan of 100. Then you can make an array of 100 long integers wich hold how many cells have that lifespan. Then you put them in a loop, and shidt everything one place (don't know if this is what you want).
Check out my site: <a href="http://members.lycos.nl/rubynl">Click here</a>
Hope you like it. Send some feedback if you want: <a href="mailto:basicallybest@live.nl">Mail me</a>
Codemss, before known as RubyNL
Post Reply