out of DATA

If you have questions about any aspect of QBasic programming, or would like to help fellow programmers solve their problems, check out this board!
Post Reply
User avatar
floogle11
Veteran
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: Zorgon planet
Contact:

out of DATA

Post by floogle11 »

Ive been doing more with graphics and a lot of times when i use the DATA command after when i run it it says :
"Line 17:
out of DATA"
what does that mean?

Heres my code:

Code: Select all

CLS
SCREEN 13
    x = 100
    y = 100
    a = 0
    b = 0
    FOR a = 0 TO 1
        FOR b = 0 TO 1

            data 00,01,
            data 01,00,
            data 00,01,

            READ z
            PSET (x, y), z

        NEXT b
    NEXT a
Go to my Qbsite its: Trueqb.webs.com
Or if you play nazi zombies go to www.Nazizombys.com and register for cheats, hints, and strategys.
User avatar
burger2227
Veteran
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Post by burger2227 »

Where is the DATA? When using nested FOR loops, you will need DATA for both loops. Simply multiply the numbers of the loops to determine how many. Your code indicates 4 READs.

I advise labeling DATA fields if DATA is used more than once. Just make a line label before the DATA and use the label with RESTORE before reading it.


RESTORE MyData

READ x, y

MyData:

DATA
DATA
DATA


I recommend placing all labeled DATA fields after the main program code.
You cannot place DATA into SUB procedures.
Please acknowledge and thank members who answer your questions!
QB64 is a FREE QBasic compiler for WIN, MAC(OSX) and LINUX : https://www.qb64.org/forum/index.php
Get my Q-Basics demonstrator: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fdmgp91d6h8ps ... s.zip?dl=0
User avatar
floogle11
Veteran
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: Zorgon planet
Contact:

Post by floogle11 »

Thanks a lot
Go to my Qbsite its: Trueqb.webs.com
Or if you play nazi zombies go to www.Nazizombys.com and register for cheats, hints, and strategys.
Post Reply