The New (maybe not improved) x.t.r.GRAPHICS QB Site!!

Announce and discuss the progress of your various programming-related projects...programs, games, websites, tutorials, libraries...anything!

Moderators: Pete, Mods

Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

Hehe, then start writing, aye? Bet you could turn out a good QB site with Java.. :D , and HTML, or however you do it with Java.. :)
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

I don't know Java, I know Javascript....TWO SEPERATE languages.
Mmmm....coffee... :D

I don't have time right now either.

GOOD NEWS!!!!! :D

I finished the background for my game!
All I'm doing is having a scrolling 3D starfield that goes from top to bottom using projections.

That 3D stuff really helped out a lot!

How do you put a background in you ask?
Simple just draw it before everthing else! :wink:

YA! :D
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

Stars are as big as planets, think, you see the stars in the sky, but you rarly see planets,.. there right big. :D :wink:

Its in science books too, so, hehe,. oh well...
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

Rattrapmax6 wrote:Stars are as big as planets, think, you see the stars in the sky, but you rarly see planets
Ok, Rattrap....What do you mean here?

Hmmm...lets see here STARS ARE AS BIG AS PLANETS!!!!
*Mit stars off into space blankly :shock: *

Ummm....Stars are like 50000000 times bigger than planets, well mabey not that big, but not even Jupiter is even 1/3 as big as our sun!

You see stars in the sky, but rarely planets?
Ummm....rarely planets....lets see here....ummm no!
-you can always see (provided its dark enough) with the naked :shock: eye Mercury, Venus, Mars, Juppiter, mabey Saturn....But No other planets in exsistance can you see! Everything else is a star (bight spot) or an airplane lol (bright spot with red lights), or a nebula (hazy small things), or a galaxy (hazy faint things).
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

:D , See,. I'm not using star field, 1: Stuff listed above, 2: I'm lazy when it comes to such things.. :wink: Figuring out Z!re's BMP loader he had in another thread, really cool, I'm making menus this way, hehe! :wink:

MS Paint cries when it sees me,. I love working out its pixal editor, hehe,. You should see what I did to my Jeep,. :D , Had to add in a hue changer and black scaller from another app,. but I made my Jeep anything but stock paint job.. hehe, I've done others also,...

You got a fav car? I can put a pick a Thrawn down the side with just MS Paint... :wink: Then make it wallpaper.. :D
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

Heh....

I'm sorry, but a starfield is RIDICULOUSLY easy, read Relsoft's Entering The 3rd Demension on this site about how to project and its a piece of cake!
Then you just have a rnd decider on where each pix will orgininate (x and z) then just decrease the y value and project. When thay get to the bottom, just have it rnd reset again.

I came up with a design for my ship but now I have the task of putting it in pixels....heh, I hate that job! :x
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

:wink: , Yeah, I started to enter that tut,.. I might just go back after SW,.

:D , You can send me the design, I could send you back a tricked out ship ripe for animation.. :wink: Trans-net team project... just a thought.. :wink: Never mind that..

Wish your luck with you spaceship game,. :)
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

That's ok, my ship is done in pixels in MS Paint, all I have to do is start the tedious job of transfering pixel by pixel into an array that will be my ship. Is there an easier way to do this? Like mabey file loading pictures that can be put into an image array?

My ship is cool :D .
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

Okay,. I can draw like that real fast! And this is how...

Code: Select all

DATA 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
DATA 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
DATA 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
DATA 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
DATA 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
DATA 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
DATA 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
DATA 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
DATA 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
DATA 00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
FOR y = 1 TO 10
    FOR x = 1 TO 10
        READ z
        PSET (x, y), z
    NEXT
NEXT
You got your ship's design, & ^thats the easiest and fastest way to replidate pixal by pixal.. You know how this works right? Anyway,. press Insert on your keyboard..

Now do a base coat, lets say yellow for now, I can remember the code,. 42
Put one finger on the 4, and another on the 2,. now click on the first 0 of the 00 were you want to start off your base shape of your ship..

Rock you fingers from 4 to 2 while clicking the mouse one the first 0 shaping out the pattern of your ship while going around.. fill the whole ship 42 for now..

Now shade your light and dark side to where you want source of light coming across your ship using 44 light, 41 dark, you know how to shade I take it? you can use what ever color, making a chart and printing it off helps, all you do is a few FOR..NEXTs, and other stuff..

Now just put other details you think it needs... and there you go. :wink: Get all that :?:

PS: Use 20*20, more texture room.. :D I did 10*10 cuz it's easier for examples..
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

thank you!
"But...It was so beutifully done"
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

But there's a problem, Since this is QB I need to make it as fast as possible so I can't have unused pixels, also putting speed aside, I using layers so unsued pixels will just erase stuff thats not there. Although I could however have it check on whether to do the pset depending on the color...
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

OR or XOR, I think OR at the end of the PUT ensted of PSET....

You need to make a black mask the same shape of your ship to lay first, then set the ship...256 I think is what you make it with, it wont invert I think....

Code: Select all

PUT (x, y), shipmsk, OR
PUT (x, y), ship, OR
I'm not sure,. but I've seen it in a code... If you don't get it, I'll explain better.. :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

Ok, I'll research it.
"But...It was so beutifully done"
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

OK! EXELLENT NEWS!!! YOU'LL LOVE THIS!!!

I looked at that tut for the mouse and:

TO SET MOUSE:
--inregs.ax = 4
--inregs.cx = 50 'X-axis
--inregs.dx = 50 'Y-axis
--CALL INTERRUPT(&H33, inregs, outregs)
That will set the mouse at (50,50)

TO SET MOUSE LIMITS:
---TO SET X-AXIS LIMITS:
--inregs.ax = 7
--inregs.cx = 1 'SET X1*
--inregs.dx = 50 'SET X2*
CALL INTERRUPT(&H33, inregs, outregs)
---TO SET Y-AXIS LIMITS:
--inregs.ax = 8
--inregs.cx = 4 'SET Y1
--inregs.dx = 60 ' SET Y2
CALL INTERRUPT (&H33, inregs, outregs)

The above will set the mouse limits between (1,4)-(50,60).
No more Ratioing!

*Note: The thing says that you should mult the X by two in SCREEN 13 for some reason...I don't know why. I never had a prob with it.

Enjoy! :D
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

Yeah, I like that position one, but ratioing takes up less space than that last one,. see....

sx = outregs.cx * .5

the x axis is 640, to the 320, just cut it in have like above,.. 1 line of code, hehe... as for the y, its 200 just like the screen. :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

:P
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

:) , whats the toung for??
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

for doing it the short way... :P
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Rattrapmax6
Veteran
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by Rattrapmax6 »

Oh well, might come in handy setting the limits back from the min-y on my ship, has a slight stick if you go to far up. You hardly notice it and when the game is done, you'll be crazy to go up that far any way! hehe!! :wink:
-Kevin (aka:Rattra)
(x.t.r.GRAPHICS)
User avatar
Mitth'raw'nuruodo
Veteran
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:04 am
Location: Eastern Coast of US
Contact:

Post by Mitth'raw'nuruodo »

Hey, how did you animate your ship? I can't figure out animation w/ get/put. :?
"But...It was so beutifully done"
Post Reply